Gael Greene
Co-Founder and Chair

Gael with a Citymeals recipient

Days after Thanksgiving in 1981, Gael Greene, restaurant critic for New York magazine, read a newspaper article about homebound elderly New Yorkers not having anything to eat on weekends or holidays. Deeply disturbed, she called an equally upset James Beard – the renowned chef and cooking teacher – and they reached out to their friends and colleagues for help. After raising $35,000, Gael contacted the New York City Department for the Aging to express her righteous anger and announce they had raised funds to serve Christmas dinner that year. Gael had no sense where that gesture would lead. “I was totally naive. I had no idea it would become what it is today.”

What began with a group of like-minded individuals and a historic public-private partnership serving 6,000 frail aged New Yorkers that first Christmas has matured into an organization preparing and delivering over 2 million meals to more than 18,000 of our isolated older neighbors each year.

Vice Chairs

Joseph M. Cohen**
Joan H. Tisch


Daniel Boulud
Robert S. Grimes

Vice Presidents

Michael Lynne
Jeffrey Mayer
Margo MacNabb Nederlander


Richard E. Piluso

Members of the Board

Nanda Anand
Daniel D. Bartfeld
Aliyyah Baylor
Albert P. Behler
Alison Lohrfink Blood
Samantha Boardman, M.D.
Bobbi Brown
Jim Carter
Anne E. Cohen**
Julie Daum
Ruth Finley
Randy Fishman
Robert K. Futterman
Mathew Glazier
Colleen Goggins
Aaron M. Goldman
Alan R. Grossman
Yusi Gurrera
Suri Kasirer
Richard Krawiec
Drew Nieporent
Charles Palmer
Craig Pfeiffer
John Pomerantz
Dennis Riese
David Rockwell
Janet K. Rodgers
Lisa Rosenblum
John Shapiro
Danielle Smith
Janis Smith-Gomez
William T. Speck, M.D.**
Marcia Stein*
Christina Steinbrenner
Roxann Taylor
Lizzie Tisch
Kathleen Turner
Nick Valenti
Patricia Wexler, M.D.

Honorary Board Members

Donna Corrado
Nicholas D’Agostino III
David Dinkins
Maggi Landau**
Edward Lewis
Jessye Norman
Alan Stillman
Donald G. Tober
Dee Topol
Joan H. Weill**
Roger Yaseen

Executive Director

Beth Shapiro

In Memoriam

Joe Baum
James Beard
Helen Hayes
Miriam Israels
Eleanor Lambert
Lewis Rudin
Janet Sainer
Preston Robert Tisch**
Pauline Trigère
Lillian Vernon

*Founding Executive Director
**Past Presidents